Monday, August 27, 2012

Mage Hunter series begins

Today kicks off my new Mage Hunter five-part fantasy serial. Each Monday for the next month following today another episode will be released until all five episodes are available. Each episode will be approximately 20,000 words and will have a price of 99 cents, at least until Nov. 1 when I will consider changing the prices on at least some of the episodes (we'll see).

This first episode is Mage Hunter: Blooded Snow. For now it will only be available for the Kindle, though I am not currently tied into any contractual agreements with Amazon and might make the series available soon for other e-book reading devices.

The story takes place in my fantasy world of Ursia, about eighty years before the events of my Kobalos Trilogy. All cover artwork and design for the series are of my own creation, including the map inside.

Here, I'll let the description of the first episode speak for itself ...

A hunt for raiding barbarians turns upon the hunters.

But far worse is to come for the sleepy villages of northern Ursia and the soldiers who protect the villagers. The Dartague barbarians have had enough of the Ursians encroaching upon their mountainous borders, and the raids are but a feint to draw out soldiers while a much larger attack is in the works.

His squad mates slain, Sergeant Guthrie Hackett finds himself alone in the winter wilderness on the border between his homeland and the nation of barbarians. He discovers the Dartague have a new leader, a wyrd woman who is behind the border assault. Worse yet for the sergeant, he has fallen under the attention of an ice witch, an inhuman creature with secret goals of her own.

Seeking to survive, Hackett tries to make it back to his own countrymen, only to find there is relatively little safety for him anywhere in the northern regions.
"Mage Hunter: Blooded Snow" is the first of a five-part series, and part of the author's much broader Ursian Chronicles.


Episodes are priced at 99 cents each until Nov. 1, 2012

Episode schedule:
Part 1: Blooded Snow: Monday, Aug. 27, 2012
Part 2: Sundered Shields: Monday, Sept. 3, 2012
Part 3: Bared Blades: Monday, Sept. 10, 2012
Part 4: Hammered Iron: Monday, Sept 17, 2012
Part 5: Changeless Fate: Monday, Sept. 24, 2012

No comments: